About us

Greetings from Hamburg

Kevin & Daniel vom #IAMPLASTICFREE Team in der Hamburger Speicherstadt

We, Kevin and Daniel, are two boys in their mid-twenties from Hamburg who have been dealing with the worldwide "plastic problem" for several years. During a semester abroad in Indonesia in 2017, we experienced with our own eyes how beaches, seas, and whole islands suffer from the increasing littering. There we concluded that we in Europe have to change something as well.

 

Inspired by local initiatives fighting for a plastic-free Indonesia, we in Germany would also like to pay more attention to the topic, promote plastic alternatives and help to ensure that we live up to our role as global pioneers. Our #IAMPLASTICFREE drinking straws made from biogenic waste materials are the first of these initiatives. A smart alternative to the plastic drinking straw, which is in no way inferior to it. But this should only be the beginning.

From Asia to Europe

Strand in Indonesien (Bali) voller Plastikmüll nach einem Unwetter

While on Instagram & Co. almost exclusively pictures of dreamlike white beaches and turquoise-blue water are posted, the reality, unfortunately, looks too often different: Coral reefs wrapped in plastic bags, beach sections sinking into the garbage, and sea creatures dying an agonizing death due to plastic particles.

 

The picture was taken by us on December 11, 2017, and shows Kuta Beach on Bali. Especially in the rainy season, when the weather gets a little bit rougher, the sea washes up a lot of (plastic) garbage overnight. The beach sections are then cleaned by hotel staff in the morning hours so that guests are not confronted with the problem. However, they are reaching their limits. Indonesian island is overstrained with the amount of garbage, which is why the government declared a "waste emergency" for the first time in 2018.

Education as the Key to Success

But not only Indonesia but also other parts of the world suffer from the plastic flood. In spring 2019, Kevin traveled to India and supported the Pratishta Foundation, a non-profit organization in Dehradun, north of New Delhi, for several weeks. Here, children from poor backgrounds are supported by educational and care services and can exchange ideas with other children.

 

Kevin experienced first-hand how the plastic problem affects people and animals in everyday life. Roads that lead through mountains of garbage, rivers that are used as sewers and children playing together with animals next to huge garbage dumps. The first few days were quite a "culture shock". Where do you start? With education!

 

As part of the volunteering project, Kevin taught the children about recycling, waste disposal, the handling and consequences of plastic and other environmental issues. The feedback from the little ones encouraged us. They took all the information with interest.

 

At the end of his trip, he planted various vegetable seeds together with the children, which will help the organization and the children's understanding of their environment in the long term.

The Drinking Straw as a Statement

Kevin & Daniel besprechen die Strategie für ihre plastikfreien Strohhalme

The European Parliament is moving forward and in October 2018 decided that plastic drinking straws will be banned in the EU by 2021. So now is the right time to switch to an alternative. Our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws are more than a simple alternative product. We see our 100% plastic-free and 100% industrially compostable straws as a statement! Therefore we communicate our slogan #IAMPLASTICFREE openly on the straws.

 

Caterers who join us position themselves directly and clearly in the debate for a plastic-free environment. And at the same time, thanks to the attached hashtag, the drinking straw becomes a charming marketing tool by encouraging guests to share photos of the drink and straw in their social networks, thus generating attention for the respective partner and the topic. A win-win situation.

 

So let's work together now to make sure

that our planet will be littered with less plastic!


#IAMPLASTICFREE - ARE YOU? 


You would like to be part of the #IAMPLASTICFREE Family? Contact us now!

About us

Moin aus Hamburg

Kevin & Daniel vom #IAMPLASTICFREE Team in der Hamburger Speicherstadt

Wir, Kevin und Daniel, sind zwei Mittzwanziger Hamburger Jungs, die sich seit mehreren Jahren mit der weltweiten "Plastik-Problematik" beschäftigen. Während eines Auslandssemesters in Indonesien in 2017 haben wir mit eigenen Augen miterlebt, wie Strände, Meere und ganze Inseln unter der zunehmenden Vermüllung leiden. Dort sind wir zu dem Entschluss gekommen, dass auch wir in Europa etwas ändern müssen.

 

Inspiriert von lokalen Initiativen vor Ort, die für ein plastikfreies Indonesien kämpfen, möchten auch wir in Deutschland dem Thema mehr Aufmerksamkeit schenken, Plastikalternativen vorantreiben und daran mitarbeiten, dass wir unser weltweiten Vorreiterrolle gerecht werden. Den Start machen unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme aus biogenen Abfallstoffen. Eine smarte Alternative zum Plastiktrinkhalm, der diesem in nichts nachsteht. Das soll aber nur der Anfang sein.

Von Asien nach Europa

Strand in Indonesien (Bali) voller Plastikmüll nach einem Unwetter

Während auf Instagram & Co. fast ausschließlich Bilder von traumhaft weißen Stränden und türkis-blauem Wasser gepostet werden, sieht die Realität leider zu oft anders aus: Korallenriffe eingehüllt in Plastiktüten, Strandabschnitte, die im Müll versinken und Meereslebewesen, die aufgrund der Aufnahme von Plastikteilchen qualvoll verenden.

 

Das Bild wurde von uns am 11. Dezember 2017 geschossen und zeigt den Kuta Beach auf Bali. Insbesondere in der Regensaison, wenn das Wetter ein wenig rauer wird, spült das Meer über Nacht Unmengen an (Plastik-) Müll an. Die Strandabschnitte werden dann von Hotelmitarbeitern in den Morgenstunden gereinigt, damit die Gäste möglichst nicht mit dem Problem konfrontiert werden. Aber selbst hier ist das Ende des Möglichen erreicht. Die indonesische Insel ist überfordert mit den Mengen an Müll, weshalb in 2018 erstmals von der Regierung der "Abfallnotstand" ausgerufen wurde.

Mit Bildung zum Erfolg

Aber nicht nur Indonesien, sondern auch weitere Teile der Welt leiden unter der Plastikflut. Im Frühjahr 2019 reiste Kevin nach Indien und unterstützte dort für mehrere Woche die Pratishta Foundation, eine Non Profit Organisation in Dehradun, nördlich von Neu-Delhi. Kinder aus armen Schichten werden hier mit Bildungs- und Betreuungsangeboten unterstützt und können sich mit anderen Kindern austauschen.

 

Kevin erlebte dort hautnah mit, wie das Plastikproblem die Menschen und Tiere im Alltag begleitet. Straßen, die durch Berge von Müll führen, Flüsse, die als Abwasserkanäle genutzt werden und Kinder, die zusammen mit Tieren neben riesengroßen Müllkippen spielen. Die ersten Tage waren ein ganz schöner "Kulturschock". Wo fängt man da nur an? Mit Bildung!

 

Im Rahmen des Volunteering-Projekts unterrichtete Kevin die Kinder zum Thema Recycling, Müllentsorgung, den Umgang und die Folgen von Plastik und weiteren Umweltthemen. Das Feedback der Kleinen machte Mut. Sie nahmen alle Informationen interessiert auf.

 

Zum Abschluss seiner Reise pflanzte er gemeinsam mit den Kindern verschiedene Gemüsesamen, die nachhaltig der Organisation und dem Verständnis der Kinder für ihre Umwelt helfen werden.

Der Trinkhalm als Statement

Kevin & Daniel besprechen die Strategie für ihre plastikfreien Strohhalme

Das europäische Parlament geht voran und hat im Oktober 2018 beschlossen, dass Plastiktrinkhalme bis zum Jahr 2021 in der EU verboten werden. Daher ist genau jetzt der richtige Zeitpunkt, um auf eine Alternative umzustellen. Unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Halme sind dabei mehr als ein schlichtes Alternativprodukt. Wir sehen unsere 100% plastikfreien und 100% industriell kompostierbaren Halme als Statement! Daher kommunizieren wir unseren Slogan #IAMPLASTICFREE auch offen auf den Trinkhalmen.

 

Gastronomen, die sich uns anschließen, positionieren sich direkt und deutlich in der Debatte für eine plastikfreie Umwelt. Und zugleich wird der Trinkhalm Dank des angeschlossenen Hashtags zum charmanten Marketingtool, indem Gäste dazu angeregt werden, Fotos des Drinks und der Halme in ihren sozialen Netzwerken zu teilen und auf diesem Weg Aufmerksamkeit für den jeweiligen Partner und das Thema zu erzeugen. Eine Win-Win-Situation.

 

Lass uns jetzt gemeinsam dafür sorgen,

dass unser Planet durch weniger Plastik vermüllt wird!


#IAMPLASTICFREE - ARE YOU? 

Du willst dabei sein? Dann kontaktiere uns jetzt!