Frequently Asked Questions

We have noted the most frequent questions about our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws here. Should you not find the answer to your question(s) here, please contact us via the contact form or send us an email to hello@iamplasticfree.org.

Are your straws really plastic-free?

Our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws do not use petroleum-based plastic. This means that our straws are free of plastic and cannot produce harmful microplastics during composting.

What material are your straws made of?

Our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws are two-thirds starch from sustainable and renewable resources. The basis for this is starch, which is extracted from biogenic waste materials such as potato peelings, corn or sugar. These are therefore specifically raw materials that are no longer available for the production of food or animal feed. It is a matter of course for us that these raw materials are free of genetic engineering. 

 

The remaining 30 percent consists of minerals such as calcium, magnesium, and fibers, which are crucial for the structure and stability of the drinking straw. No plasticizers are used.

Is it possible to test your plastic-free straws?

We know ourselves: Plastic-free straws based on potato peel, among other things - that sounds strange at first. But since we are completely convinced of our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws, we offer you the possibility to test our straws for free. We will send you three samples of each of our three sizes. You can find further information here.

What material is the color of the hashtag on your straws made of?

For the printed "#IAMPLASTICFREE" hashtag we use white food coloring. This has the advantage that it is not dangerous for consumption and that the straw remains completely compostable. For this purpose, we work together with the only German printing company that uses food coloring and applies it to the straws using a pad printing process.

Where are your drinking straws made?

#IAMPLASTICFREE straws are manufactured in the EU. The granulate used as the base material for the straws comes from Germany.

Are your drinking straws compostable?

Our #IAMPLASTICFREE drinking straws are completely biodegradable in industrial composting plants. There are optimal composting conditions with temperatures of 50 degrees and can be composted in a very short time. We do not recommend self-composting, as there are no ideal conditions for the decomposition process (temperature, humidity) and therefore the decomposition process is prolonged accordingly. The exact duration depends on the respective environmental conditions. 

How much do your drinking straws cost?

The prices for our drinking straws vary depending on the size of the straw. In our shop, you can see the prices for our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws transparent and order directly. For higher quantities, we will be happy to make you an individual offer. Use our contact form or send us an email to hello@iamplasticfree.org. 

What is the shelf life of your straws?

Since it is a compostable product made of biogenic waste, the life span or durability is limited to approx. 18 to 21 months. Therefore the straws start to decompose slowly after about 1.5 years.

Do your drinking straws already dissolve in the drink?

Unlike plastic straw alternatives, such as paper straws or noodles, our #IAMPLASTICFREE straw does not lose any of its properties during drinking. It does not soften and does not dissolve in the drink after a certain time. The properties are almost 1:1 comparable to a classic plastic straw - without being made of plastic. 

In which sizes are your straws available?

We offer our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws in the following three sizes

  • Size S: 7 x 160 mm
  • Size M: 7 x 210 mm
  • Size L: 8 x 250 mm

You can see further details in our shop.

Are your drinking straws also available without a printed hashtag?

Since our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws do not differ from the usual plastic straws, at first sight, we are convinced that the straw has to communicate this message. Therefore we use the hashtag "#IAMPLASTICFREE" on all our straws. This is a charming way of making it clear to the guest or customer that plastic-free straws are used. The print in the form of a hashtag also encourages sharing the drink including the straw online via social media channels such as Instagram, Facebook or Pinterest.

Can your straws be printed individually?

In consultation with you, we generally offer companies the possibility of co-branding. This means that in addition to our #IAMPLASTICFREE hashtag, a brand logo, slogan or similar can be printed on the straw. A minimum purchase quantity is required for this. If you are interested, please contact us via contact form or mail to hello@iamplasticfree.org and we will send you all the details.

Are your drinking straws edible?

Even if our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws are made of e.g. potato starch, they are not edible.

Are your straws heat resistant?

Our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws are ideal for cold drinks, such as lemonades, long drinks or cocktails. Our straws can also be used for lukewarm drinks up to 30 degrees. However, our drinking straws are not suitable for drinks that are usually hotter than 30 degrees, such as coffee or tea.

How do you send the straws and how long does it take to ship them?

Our #IAMPLASTICFREE straws are shipped via DHL. Normally you will receive your delivery within a few working days, if not otherwise communicated in the shop. The exact delivery time depends on the payment method.

Which materials do you use for the shipping of the straws?

Many of our customers are already familiar with it and some of them may have been a bit surprised about the package they received when they placed their first order. Because we use already used packages and packaging material again. We do not only collect our packages but also get packaging materials from some "suppliers" from our circle of acquaintances or small shops in the neighborhood. All true to the motto: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.

Du fragst, wir antworten

Die häufigsten Fragen zu unseren #IAMPLASTICFREE Halmen haben wir hier notiert. Solltest Du hier keine Antwort auf Deine Frage(n) finden, melde Dich gerne via Kontaktformular bei uns oder schreib uns eine Mail an hello@iamplasticfree.org.

Sind eure Trinkhalme wirklich plastikfrei?

Unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme verzichten auf erdölbasiertes Plastik. Dadurch sind unsere Halme frei von Plastikanteilen und können während der Kompostierung auch kein schädliches Mikroplastik erzeugen.

Aus welchem Material bestehen eure Trinkhalme?

Unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme bestehen zu zwei Dritteln aus Stärke nachhaltiger und nachwachsender Rohstoffe. Grundlage dafür liefert Stärke, die aus biogenen Abfallstoffen, wie z.B. Kartoffelschalen, Mais oder auch Zucker gewonnen wird. Es handelt sich also gezielt um Rohstoffe, die nicht mehr für die Herstellung von Lebensmitteln oder Tierfutter zur Verfügung stehen. Dabei ist es für uns selbstverständlich, dass diese Rohstoffe frei von Gentechnik sind. 

 

Die restlichen 30 Prozent bestehen aus Mineralien, wie Kalzium, Magnesium und Faserstoffen, die für die Struktur und Stabilität des Trinkhalms entscheidend sind. Auf Weichmacher wird verzichtet.

Kann man eure plastikfreien Halme testen?

Wir wissen selbst: Plastikfreie Trinkhalme auf Basis von u.a. Kartoffelschale - das hört sich erst einmal komisch an. Da wir aber von unseren #IAMPLASTICFREE Halmen vollkommen überzeugt sind, bieten wir Dir die Möglichkeit, unsere Halme kostenfrei zu testen. Dafür senden wir Dir je drei Samples unserer drei Größen zu. Alle Infos dazu findest Du hier.

Aus welchem Material besteht die Farbe des Hashtags auf euren Trinkhalmen?

Für den aufgedruckten "#IAMPLASTICFREE" Hashtag nutzen wir weiße Lebensmittelfarbe. Diese hat den Vorteil, dass sie für den Verzehr ungefährlich ist und, dass der Halm vollständig kompostierbar bleibt. Dafür arbeiten wir mit der einzigen deutschen Druckerei zusammen, die Lebensmittelfarbe verwendet und diese mittels Tampondruckverfahren auf den Halmen aufträgt.

Wo werden eure Trinkhalme hergestellt?

Die Herstellung der #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme erfolgt in der EU. Das Granulat als Grundstoff der Halme stammt aus Deutschland.

Sind eure Trinkhalme kompostierbar?

Unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme sind in industriellen Kompostieranlagen vollständig biologisch abbaubar. Dort herrschen mit Temperaturen von 50 Grad optimale Kompostierungsbedingungen und die Halme können so in kürzester Zeit kompostiert werden. Wir empfehlen keine Eigenkompostierung, da keine idealen Bedingungen für den Zersetzungsprozess (Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit) herrschen und sich dieser daher entsprechend verlängert. Die genaue Dauer ist von den jeweiligen Umgebungsbedingungen abhängig. 

Wieviel kosten eure Trinkhalme?

Die Preise für unsere Trinkhalme unterscheiden sich je nach Halmgröße. In unserem Shop kannst Du die Preise für unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme transparent einsehen und direkt bestellen. Bei höheren Abnahmemengen unterbreiten wir Dir gerne ein individuelles Angebot. Nutze dafür unser Kontaktformular oder schreib uns eine Mail an hello@iamplasticfree.org

Wie lange sind eure Trinkhalme haltbar?

Da es sich um ein kompostierbares Produkt aus biogenen Abfallstoffen handelt, ist die Lebensdauer bzw. Haltbarkeit auf ca. 18 bis 21 Monaten beschränkt. Somit fangen die Halme nach ca. 1,5 Jahren an, sich langsam zu zersetzen.

Lösen sich euer Trinkhalme bereits im Getränk auf?

Entgegen Plastikhalm-Alternativen, wie Papierhalmen oder Nudeln, verliert unser #IAMPLASTICFREE Halm keine seiner Eigenschaften während des Trinkens. Er wird also nicht weich und löst sich auch nicht nach einer bestimmten Zeit im Getränk auf. Die Eigenschaften sind nahezu 1:1 vergleichbar mit einem klassischen Plastikhalm - ohne aus Plastik zu sein. 

In welchen Größen sind eure Trinkhalme erhältlich?

Wir bieten unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE-Halme in den folgenden drei Größen an:

  • Größe S: 7 x 160 mm
  • Größe M: 7 x 210 mm
  • Größe L: 8 x 250 mm

Weitere Details seht Ihr in unserem Shop.

Gibt es eure Trinkhalme auch ohne bedruckten Hashtag?

Da sich unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Halme auf dem ersten Blick nicht von den üblichen Plastikhalmen unterscheiden, sind wir der festen Überzeugung, dass der Halm diese Botschaft kommunizieren muss. Wir verwenden daher auf all unseren Trinkhalmen den Hashtag "#IAMPLASTICFREE". So wird dem Gast bzw. Kunden auf charmante Art und Weise deutlich gemacht, dass plastikfreie Trinkhalme verwendet werden. Der Druck in Form eines Hashtags ermutigt zudem, das Getränk inklusive Halm online über Social Media Kanäle wie z.B. Instagram, Facebook oder Pinterest zu teilen.

Kann man eure Halme bedrucken lassen?

In Rücksprache bieten wir Unternehmen grundsätzlich die Möglichkeit eines Co-Brandings an. D.h., dass zusätzlich zu unserem #IAMPLASTICFREE-Hashtag ein Markenlogo, Slogan o.ä. mit auf dem Halm gedruckt werden kann. Hierfür ist eine Mindestabnahmemenge erforderlich. Bei Interesse melde Dich gerne per Kontaktformular oder Mail an hello@iamplasticfree.org und wir senden Dir alle Details.

Sind eure Trinkhalme essbar?

Auch wenn unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Halme zu rund zwei Dritteln aus z.B. Kartoffelstärke bestehen, sind diese nicht essbar.

Sind eure Trinkhalme hitzebeständig?

Unsere #IAMPLASTICFREE Trinkhalme eignen sich ideal für Kaltgetränke, wie Limonaden, Longdrinks oder Cocktails. Auch für lauwarme Getränke bis 30 Grad können unsere Trinkhalme genutzt werden. Für Getränke die in der Regel heißer als 30 Grad sind, wie z.B. Kaffee oder Tee, sind unsere Trinkhalme allerdings nicht geeignet.

Wie versendet ihr die Halme und wie lange dauert der Versand?

Der Versand unserer #IAMPLASTICFREE Halme erfolgt via DHL. In der Regel erhältst Du deine Lieferung innerhalb weniger Werktage, wenn dies nicht anders im Shop kommuniziert ist. Die genaue Lieferdauer ist abhängig von der Zahlungsweise.

Welche Materialen nutzt ihr für den Versand der Halme?

Vielen unserer Kunden ist es bereits bekannt und einige haben sich bestimmt bei ihrer ersten Bestellung etwas gewundert, was sie da für ein Paket bekommen. Denn wir verwenden gebrauchte Pakete und Verpackungsmaterial wieder. Hierzu sammeln wir nicht nur unsere Pakete, sondern bekommen auch von einigen "Zulieferern" aus dem Bekanntenkreis oder von kleinen Shops aus der Nachbarschaft Verpackungsmaterialien zur Verfügung gestellt. Alles getreu dem Motto: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.